Book Review: Dory Fantasmagory Head in the Clouds

Dory

This is one of those book reviews that’s really hard for me to write. Because all I really want to say is “It’s flipping fantastic!” and then I want everyone in the world to take my word for it, and I want everyone to go out and by it, so Abby Hanlon can make millions and spend the rest of her life living in comfort while she adds more books to this fabulous series.

The Dory Fantasmagory series is one that I needed as a kid. I was very much  like Dory. My imagination took me to the most absurd places, but awesome places and knowing a character like Dory would have helped me know that I wasn’t alone, and that there were kids out there like me.

I read this one this afternoon, preparing to be a little disappointed. I mean no author can keep a series going this strongly for this long, right? (this is the 4th book) but there was no let down. Not at all. I found myself laughing out loud several times a page, and once again, I am in awe of Ms. Hanlon’s ability to appeal to my weird my sense of humor perfectly.

There was one other thing at the very end, (on the author’s bio page of all places) that made me very happy.

dory2

That next to last sentence: “Dory Dory Blacksheep was an ALA Notable book.” That was my committee! And not only that, but I was the one who nominated this book! I used my option of last-minute nomination, to get this one on our discussion list, after the list was already made (because for some reason, I waited until late December to read it) and I fought as hard as I could to get my fellow committee members to love it as much as I did. I probably didn’t have to fight too hard, though. This series sells itself.

Anyways, come one guys. Let’s make Abby Hanlon rich! Go out and buy the new Dory book. All the other ones too!

 

Published by Benji

I am an elementary school librarian in Montgomery, AL.

Leave a comment