Everything I need to know, I learned from Elephant and Piggie

I’ve been summering from PPEAPD (Pre-Post-Elephant and Piggie Depression) lately. It was really hard for me to enjoy the latest book, I Really Like Slop, the first time because all I could think about while I was reading it was “It’s the next to last one, ever!” :(. Everyone who knows me knows that I REALLY like the Elephant and Piggie books. Last Friday, I spoke at a conference and I mentioned Elephant and Piggie at least four times during my presentation, and this was after I started things out by reading I Broke my Trunk. The Elephant and Piggie books are smart, they’re funny. They’re the BEST books out there for emerging readers, and the quality doesn’t suffer at all because of their simplicity. Most of all, though, they are wise. You can learn a lot from these books. Here’s what I have learned from Gerald and Piggie over the years.

We all need some personal space.

elephantandpiggienest

It’s ok to pretend sometimes.

elephant and piggie pretend

Friends find ways to include each other

elephand and piggie catch

Friends are honest with each other

elephant and piggie glasses

Friends worry about each other.

geraldworried

Good communication is key to good friendship.

elephant and piggie trumpet

We should celebrate other cultures.

elephant and piggie cultures

Friends listen to each other (even when the advice is doubtful)

elephant and piggie party

Don’t be a showoff.

showoff

Friends are flexible.

elephant and piggie flexible

We’re all good at something.

elephant and piggie spray

We shouldn’t let jealousy ruin friendships.

elephantandpigie new friend

We need to stop and admire the stars sometimes.

elephant and piggie stars

We all need a little rest now and then.

elephant and piggie rest

It’s all about perspective.

elephant and piggie cold

Sometimes having fun is the most important thing.

elephantandpiggie fun

We should constantly be learning new things.

elephant and piggie dance

It’s ok to ask for help.

elephant and piggie help

It’s ok to say no.

elephantandpiggieslop

Friends stand up for each other.

elephant and piggie Big Guy

People are more important than things.

elephant and piggie toys

Sometimes we find friends in unexpected places.

pigeon

Friends laugh together.

elephant and piggie laugh

It’s hard to say goodbye.

elephant and piggie goodbye

Thanks for all of the laughs and lessons over the years, Mo.

Published by Benji

I am an elementary school librarian in Montgomery, AL.

Leave a comment