The first month of school has come and gone (already?) and like I do every month I am pulling the circulation numbers and taking a look at which books did the best in my library. I’m always really interested in the August report because the trends can change a lot over the summer.

A Quick Prediction:

Before I do pull the numbers, I want to make a guess on which book has been circulating the best. The safe bet would be an Elephant and Piggie book or a Diary of a Wimpy Kid novel. They are always high on the list, but I’m going to gamble and say it’s Harry Potter and The Cursed Child. Several kids (and teachers) were asking me about that book when they saw me in the hallways on the first day of school, and I haven’t been able to keep it on the shelves. Maybe I’m wrong, but I think it will be near the top of the list.

Let’s see if I’m right….the first place book is….(drumroll)

  1. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days

dogdays

Weird. Even if I knew it was A Wimpy Kid book that won, I probably wouldn’t have guessed this one. I can’t even begin to explain it. I guess  it was just a case of the library having several copies available, and lots of kids wanting a Greg Heffley book.

2. Pigs Make Me Sneeze

 sneeze

3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

harry potter

Well, I was right about Harry being up there in the list, but wrong about which book.

4. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Old School

oldschool

5. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

cursed

Here it is. A bit further down the list than expected.

6. Into the Wild

intothewild

The Warriors books have always been pretty popular here, but this year they’ve been going fast like free NASCAR stickers at Walmart.

7. I Really Like Slop

slop

8. Number One Sam

numberonesam

At this point, I think it’s safe to say that this isn’t because of the Greg Pizzoli visit we had last spring, but more because this is just an awesome book.

9. The Thank You Book

thank you book

If I had enough copies of this book, and I could give one to every student who asked for it, it would be way at the top of the list. Someone is looking for it every single day, and sadly, I rarely have a copy on hand. It has definitely been the most requested book of the year so far.

10. Smile

smile

Raina has a strong following here. I wish you could see the waiting list for her next book.

That’s it. There were a few surprises for me, but all in all, the Saint James kids still like a lot of what they liked last year.

