I saw a list that Josh Funk posted the other day. It was his favorite movie from every year he’s been alive. 

I thought that was a pretty cool idea. I started thinking that it would be fun for me to make a list like that myself, but to do it with books instead of movies. I worried that maybe there might be a year or two in the last 32 years in which I hadn’t read a book published in that year, but it turned out that I didn’t have anything to worry about. The hardest part was picking just one for a few of the years (especially the more recent years) so I cheated and added honorable mentions.  Here’s my list. I’m sure I missed lots of great books, but I did my best. They aren’t all kids’ books, but a lot of them are. It was a ton of fun to make.

1984

littlemouse.jpg

1985

ender's game

Honorable Mention: Dragon Ball  Vol. 1: The Monkey King

1986

hatchet

Honorable Mention: Redwall by Brian Jacques

1987

americanchildhood.jpg

Honorable Mention: Beloved by Toni Morrison

1988

matilda.jpg

Honorable Mentions: Sandman vol 1 by Neil Gaiman and Joyful Noise by Paul Fleischman.

1989

elmer.jpg

Honorable Mention: Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet

1990

eye.jpg

Honorable Mention: The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning

1991

chrysanthemum.jpg.

Honorable Mention: Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

1992

stupidsmellybus

1993

giver.jpg

Honorable Mention: Stellaluna by Janell Cannon

1994

walk.jpg

1995

golden.jpg

Honorable Mention: Running Out of Time by Margaret Haddix

1996

thief.jpg

Honorable Mention: The Subtle Knife by Phillip Pullman

1997

harry potter

Honorable Mention: The Adventures of Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey

1998

chamber of secrets

Honorable Mention: Holes by Louis Sachar

1999

Harry_Potter_and_the_Prisoner_of_Azkaban_(US_cover).jpg

Honorable Mentions: Strega Nona by Tomi DePaola, The Full Belly Bowl by Jim Aylesworth and Hallo-Wiener by Dav Pilkey

2000

Harry_Potter_and_the_Goblet_of_Fire_(US_cover)

This was actually a hard choice for me. Queen of Attolia is sooooo good.

Honorable Mentions: Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner and Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCammillo.

2001

metalk.jpg

Honorable mention: John Adams by David McCullough.

2002

TheHouseoftheScorpion.jpg

Honorable mention: Coroline by Neil Gaiman

2003

order.jpeg

Honorable mention: Arnie the Doughnut by Laurie Keller

2004

al.jpeg

2005

Harry_Potter_and_the_Half-Blood_Prince_(US_cover).jpg

Honorable Mentions: The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak and Knuffle Bunny by Mo Willems

2006

king.jpeg

2007

hallows.jpeg

Honorable Mention: The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

2008

graveyard.jpg

Honorable Mentions: Savvy by Ingrid Law and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

2009

whenyoureachme.jpeg

Honorable Mentions: The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly and Guess Again by Mac Barnett.

2010

weareinabook

Honorable Mentions: Smile by Raina Telgemeier A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner and Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool

2011

icefall

Honorable Mention: Okay for Now by Gary Schmidt

2012

ivan.jpeg

 

Honorable Mentions: Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett, This is Not my Hat by Jon Klassen and Wonder by R.J. Palacio

2013

Lockwood1.jpg

Honorable Mention: Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool

2014

samanddave.jpeg

Honorable Mentions: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander and Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

2015

waiting

Honorable Mentions: Penderwicks in Spring by Jeanne Birdsall and Sidewalk Flowers by JonArno Lawson and Sydney Smith

That’s it! My list of my favorite book from every year I’ve been alive.

